# **NOTICE OF ELECTION**

# 2014 Annual School Election Pulaski County Special School District

Notice to Voters: Election Day polls will be open ONLY for voters that live within the area proposing to detach from the Pulaski County Special School District. A description of that area is given below. Early and absentee voting will be available for ALL voters.

Election Day Polls open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, September 16, 2014.

Precinct	Polling Locations	Address	
26	Davou Mata Dantiat Church	26200 Huay 107	laakaanvilla
	Bayou Meto Baptist Church	26200 Hwy 107	Jacksonville
27	McArthur Assembly of God Church	3501 John Harden Dr.	Jacksonville
28	Kellogg Valley Baptist Church	9516 Bamboo Ln.	North Little Rock
29	Jacksonville Community Center	5 Municipal Dr.	Jacksonville
30	Jacksonville Community Center	5 Municipal Dr.	Jacksonville
32	First Baptist of Gravel Ridge	14322 Hwy 107	Jacksonville
33	Jacksonville Community Center	5 Municipal Dr.	Jacksonville
34	St. Jude the Apostle Catholic Church	2403 McArthur Dr.	Jacksonville
35	The Venue at Chapel Hill	1409 Madden Rd.	Jacksonville
36	First Presbyterian Church	1208 W. Main St.	Jacksonville
37	First Baptist Church	401 N. First St.	Jacksonville
<b>♦</b> 38	Jacksonville Senior Center	100 Victory Circle	Jacksonville
44	Indianhead Lake Baptist Church	8601 Indianhead Dr.	Sherwood
<b>♦</b> 45	Jacksonville Senior Center	100 Victory Circle	Jacksonville
46	Berea Baptist Church	104 East Valentine Rd.	Jacksonville
47	Berea Baptist Church	104 East Valentine Rd.	Jacksonville
48	Harris Elementary School	4424 Hwy 161 North	North Little Rock

#### ♦ Permanent Polling Place Change

## **☑** EARLY VOTING

#### **Main Site Early Voting**

Pulaski County Regional Bldg, 501 W. Markham St., Little Rock

#### **Hours and Dates:**

Tuesday, September 9th - Monday, September 15th

- ⇒ 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Weekdays
- ⇒ No Saturday Early Voting

#### **Offsite Early Voting**

William F. Laman Library, 2801 Orange St., North Little Rock Jacksonville Community Center, 5 Municipal Dr., Jacksonville

#### **Hours and Dates:**

Tuesday, September 9th - Friday, September 12th

⇒ 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Weekdays

Offsite Early Voting Locations Hours, Dates, and Last Day to Vote are different than the Main Site Early Vote Location

#### **☑** ABSENTEE

Election Officials will begin opening, canvassing, and counting Absentee Ballots at 2:00 p.m. on Election Day, September 16<sup>th</sup>, at the following location: **Pulaski County Regional Building,** 501 West Markham, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

### **☑** ELECTION INFORMATION

### **Voter Registration Deadlines**

August 17<sup>th</sup> - Out of State and New Voter September 12<sup>th</sup> – Transfer within State

Election information can be located at the following websites: <a href="https://www.pulaski.clerk.com">www.pulaski.clerk.com</a>, <a href="https://www.votepulaski.net">www.votepulaski.net</a>, or by contacting the Pulaski Circuit/County Clerk's Office at 340-8336.

# **NOTICE OF ELECTION**

# 2014 Annual School Election Pulaski County Special School District

## **☑** BALLOT ISSUE

# Millage Question TAX OF 40.7 MILLS

The proposed tax levy has been adjusted from the rate approved at the annual school election in 1997 due to the effects and results of a countywide reappraisal of all taxable property in Pulaski County, Arkansas, conducted pursuant to the provision of Amendment No. 59 to the Arkansas Constitution. To provide for the foregoing proposed budget of expenditures, the Board of Directors proposes a total tax levy of 40.7 mills. This represents no change from the previous year. The proposed tax levy includes the Uniform Rate of 25.0 mills (the "Statewide Uniform Rate") to be collected on all taxable property in the State and remitted to the State Treasurer pursuant to Amendment No. 74 to the Arkansas Constitution to be used solely for maintenance and operation of schools in the State. As provided in Amendment No. 74, the Statewide Uniform Rate replaces a portion of the existing rate of tax levied by this School District and available for maintenance and operation of schools in this District. The existing rate of tax levied by this School District is composed of 25.0 mills specifically voted for general maintenance and operation, .9 mills for current expenditures/dedicated maintenance and operation millage, and 14.8 mills for debt service previously voted as a continuing debt service tax pledged for the retirement of existing bonded indebtedness. Surplus revenues produced each year by debt service millage may be used by the district for other purposes.

## **☑** BALLOT ISSUE

## Proposition on the Creation of a Jacksonville/North Pulaski School District

The proposition is the creation of a new school district by detachment of property and territory that includes the below property and territory from the Pulaski County Special School District. To give general notice of the territory affected, the property and territory to be detached can be generally described as the city limits of Jacksonville, Arkansas, an area generally north of the city limits of Jacksonville, Arkansas that lies in Pulaski County, Arkansas, and an area generally east of the city limits of Jacksonville, Arkansas.

Creation of a new school district by detachment of property and territory that includes the following property and territory from the Pulaski County Special School District:

Beginning at the northeast corner of Pulaski County (NE Corner of Section 4, Township 4N, Range 10 west) and proceeding due west along the Pulaski County line, which borders Lonoke and Faulkner Counties, to the NW corner of Section 6, Township 4N, Range 11 west; then, proceeding due south along the Faulkner and Pulaski County lines to the southwest corner of Section 31, Township 4N, Range 11 west; then proceeding due east along the section line to the Northeast corner of Section 5, Township 3 north, Range 11 west to intersection with Jim Hall Road; then proceeding due south on Jim Hall Road along the east line of Section 5, Township 3 north, Range 11 west to Old Tom Box Road; then west to Bayou Meto Creek; then south along Bayou Meto Creek to the South line of the North ½ of the North ½ said section 9 to the east line of said Section 9, Township 3 North, Range 11West; then east along the South line of the North ½ of the North ½ said section 9 to the east line of said Section 9 and the city limits of the City of Jacksonville; then southerly along the west city limits of the City of Jacksonville to the SW corner of Sec 2, T-2-N, R 11 W; then due east along section line to Arkansas Highway 161; then south along boundary of Jacksonville City limits to point where city limits adjoin north border of Section 12, Township 2 north, Range 11 west; then proceed east to the Lonoke County line; then extending into Lonoke County and include the portion of Lonoke County, Township 2 north, Range 10 west, and Township 3 north, Range 10 West, which is presently a part of Pulaski County Special School District; then north following Lonoke-Pulaski County line to point of beginning.

On the proposition of the creation of a new school district by this proposed detachment of property and territory from the Pulaski County Special School District, I vote:

$\bigcirc$	FOR
$\bigcirc$	AGAINST