

Pulaski County Election Commission Meeting Minutes November 17, 2017 3:30 p.m.

Members Present Leonard A. Boyle, Sr.

Pat Hays

Bilenda Harris-Ritter

Staff Present Bryan Poe

Betty Green Shawn Camp Amanda Dickens

Visitors Present: Jason Kennedy, County Clerk's Office

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 pm by Chair Pat Hays. A quorum was determined; all commissioners were present.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Commissioner Boyle moved to accept the minutes as written; seconded by Commissioner Harris-Ritter. Motion passed by voice vote.

Business

Preliminary Review of Provisional Ballots for the Gray Township Special Election
There were 20 provisional votes cast during early voting and on election day, of which
four were valid votes. Fifteen were cast by ineligible voters. Five absentee votes were
made provisional and will be counted. There were nine total provisional ballots that
were determined to be valid for this election.

Commissioner Harris-Ritter moved for the acceptance of the nine eligible provisional ballots; Commissioner Boyle seconded the motion. Motion passed by voice vote.

Commissioner Boyle moved for the rejection of the 15 ineligible ballots; Commissioner Harris-Ritter seconded the motion. Motion passed by voice vote. Notifications will be mailed to the voters on November 20, 2017, to notify the voters of the rejection of their vote.

There were no provisional ballots for the Defunct Precinct 614, which is currently Precincts 26, 27 and 28. There are currently eight outstanding Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) ballots. The deadline for the UOCAVA ballots is November 27, 2017.

Director Poe acknowledged the clerk's office for their thorough and professional job on the provisional ballots.

Certify Official Election Results for Alexander Special Election
There were no provisional ballots for the Alexander Special Election. There were nine ballots cast in Pulaski County for this election, with five votes for the measure and four votes against. Commissioner Boyle moved for the certification of the provisional ballots and the election results; Commissioner Harris-Ritter seconded the motion. Motion passed by voice vote.

Copies of the election results will be provided to the Pulaski County Clerk's Office, City of Alexander and Saline County.

Other Business

Next meeting will be held November 28, 2017 at 5:00 pm for the Certification of the Special Election for Defunct Gray Township 54, 56 and Precinct 614.

Commissioner Boyle invited the other commissioners to attend the Conference for Reentry Program Meeting in January 2018, more information will be provided later.

New polling locations for Precincts 53, 55, 86, and 115 will be discussed at the next meeting.

Commissioner Harris-Ritter moved for adjournment; Commissioner Boyle seconded the motion. Motion passed by voice vote.

Meeting adjourned at 3:45 pm.