

Pulaski County Election Commission Meeting Minutes April 6, 2017 4:30 p.m.

Members Present

Pat Hays, Chairman Leonard A. Boyle, Sr., Commissioner Bilenda Harris-Ritter, Commissioner

Staff Present

Bryan Poe Shawn Camp Amanda Dickens

Visitors Present: Cynthia Howell, Arkansas Democrat Gazette

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Pat Hays. A quorum was determined; all commissioners present.

Approval of Meeting Minutes March 9, 2017

Commissioner Boyle motioned to approve minutes. Commissioner Harris-Ritter amended motion noting a correction in the minutes. Motion to approve with minutes with correction. Motion passed by voice vote.

Business

Pulaski County Special School District Special Election, June 13, 2017 Approval of Polling Location Order

Temporary Polling Location Orders are as follows:

Precinct 77 Agape Church to Precinct 60 Highland Valley UMC

- Precinct 81 First Missionary Baptist Church to Precinct 62 Crystal Hill Baptist Church
- Precinct 125 Baseline Elementary School to Precinct 131 Mills High School
- Precinct 73 Parkway Place Baptist Church to Precinct 60 Highland Valley UMC
- Precinct 130 College Station Community Center to Precinct 131 Mills High School
- Precinct 135 Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church to Precinct 131 Mills High School

Precinct 129 LR Fire Station #4 to Precinct 131 Mills High School

Precinct 10 Levy Baptist Church to Precinct 24 St Anne Parish Hall

Precinct 19 North Heights Recreation Center to Precinct 24 St Anne Parish Hall

Precinct 53 Bethany Baptist Church to Precinct 48 Harris Elementary School Precinct 50 Central Baptist Church to Precinct 49 Duran Youth Center Precinct 33 Jacksonville Comm Center to Precinct 32 The Connection Church of Sherwood Precinct 68 Chenal Valley Church of Christ to Precinct 58 Winfield UMC Precinct 105 Southside Church of Christ to Precinct 127 Arch St Fire Department Precinct 79 Henderson UMC to Precinct 62 Crystal Hill Baptist Church Precinct 22 Levy Church of Christ to Precinct 24 St Anne Parish Hall Precinct 52 Sherman Park Community Center to Precinct 48 Harris Elementary School Precinct 54 Calvary Baptist Church to Precinct 44 Indianhead Lake Baptist Church Precinct 71 Pulaski Academy to Precinct 64 Chenal Valley Baptist Church Precinct 14 Levy Baptist Church to Precinct 24 St Anne Parish Hall Motion to approve polling locations and early voting location made by Commissioner Harris-Ritter; seconded by Commissioner Boyle. Motion passed by voice vote.

Approval of Ballots

There are 65 precincts and 33 polls.

Motion to approve ballot styles made by Commissioner Boyle; seconded by Commissioner Harris-Ritter. Motion passed by voice vote.

Approval of Notice of Election

Polling Locations are noted for voters in: Faulkner County - Precinct 28 Kellogg Valley Baptist Church Lonoke County - Precinct 55 Plantation Agricultural Museum Saline County -

East - Precinct 127 Arch Street Fire Department West - Precinct 62 Crystal Hill Baptist Church

Motion to approve Notice of Election made by Commissioner Harris-Ritter. Seconded by Commissioner Boyle. Motion passed by voice vote.

Little Rock School District May 9, 2017

Order to Rescind Temporary Polling Location Order for Precinct 114 Arkansas Arts Center Motion to approve Order to Rescind Temporary Polling Location Order for Precinct 114 Arkansas Arts Center made by Commissioner Boyle; seconded by Commissioner Harris-Ritter. Motion passed by voice vote.

Amended Polling Location Order

Motion to approve revised Election Day and Early Voting Polling Location Order was made by Commissioner Harris-Ritter; seconded by Commissioner Boyle. Motion passed by voice vote.

Revised Ballot Styles

Ballot Style 52 - the polling location header was changed for Precinct 114 from Dunbar Recreation Center to Arkansas Arts Center.

Per request of the LRSD a paragraph space was placed after the first paragraph in the ballot language.

Motion to approve revised ballot styles made by Commissioner Harris-Ritter; seconded by Commissioner Boyle. Motion passed by voice vote.

Approval of Revised Notice of Election

Motion to approve revised Notice of Election made by Commissioner Boyle; seconded by Commissioner Harris-Ritter. Motion passed by voice vote.

Next meeting is scheduled for April 17, 2017 at 4:00 p.m.

Other Business

Mr. Poe stated that HB 297 in the General Assembly, which was to fund new voting equipment, failed by one vote. There will be no new voting equipment purchased. We will continue with the current voting equipment in place. Voting centers will not be made possible for Pulaski County at this time but we may be able to expand our early voting sites to relieve pressure on the current sites.

There are 15 additional Acts that were passed during the session that will affect our agency and six acts that were passed by the legislature but have not been signed. When all are on the books, Mr. Poe will address them all at once to summarize for the commission.

Meeting adjourned.